Your New Moncton City Council

From City of Moncton Facebook page.

It appears that the next Moncton City Council will feature a handful of new names and faces.

While the election results remain unofficial for the time being, results from Elections NB indicate there will be five new City Councillors for the Hub City.

Your New Moncton City Council

Mayor-elect Dawn Arnold will spend another four years representing Moncton after defeating Erik Gingles.

The two seats for councillor-at-large will be filled by Monique LeBlanc and Marty Kingston. Leblanc previously represented Moncton East as a member of the Liberal Party and Kingston is a former play by play Announcer for the Moncton Wildcats.

Both Shawn Crossman and Paulette Theriault have unofficially been re-elected as councillors of Ward 1.

It was a tight race for Moncton’s Ward 2 with Charles Leger retaining his role as councillor, while Daniel Bourgeois will return to council after serving as Councillor of Ward 3 from 2008 to 2016.

Incumbent Bryan Butler received the most votes for Ward 3 and will be joined by Dave Steeves.

Lastly, newcomer Paul Richard was elected as Councillor of Ward 4 along with Susan Edgett who has filled the role since 2016.